When we are purchasing an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch from someone other than Apple or an authorized Apple reseller (e.g. Kijiji/Craigslist), it is up to us to ensure that the device has been erased and is no longer linked to the previous owner’s account.
We can check the current Activation Lock status of a device by visiting icloud.com/activationlock from any Mac or PC or just follow the steps below to make sure that you can use the device you purchase:
- Turn the device on and slide to unlock.
- If the passcode lock screen or the Home screen appears, the device hasn’t been erased. Ask the seller to completely erase the device by going to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Don’t take ownership of any used iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch until it’s been erased.
- Begin the device setup process.
- After choosing a language, choosing a country, and connecting to a network, the device will begin activation. If you’re asked for the previous owner’s Apple ID and password, the device is still linked to their account. Hand the device back to the seller and ask them to enter their password. If the previous owner isn’t present, they can remove the device from their account by signing in to icloud.com/find.
You will know that a device is ready for you to use when you’re asked to “Set up your iPhone,” “Set up your iPad,” or “Set up your iPod” during the device setup process. Don’t take ownership of any used iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch until it has been removed from the previous owner’s account.